Easy Jambalaya

I believe I’ve mentioned that I adore spicy food, so does the hubster. We consumed as much as possible while the kid was in Maine. One thing I made was Jambalaya. While it wasn’t as spicy as I would’ve liked, it would be pretty easy to spice it up.

Also, I know that jambalaya traditionally contains shrimp, but I didn’t have any on hand. You could easily throw some in this if you really wanted to, though. Just add it in with the chicken and kielbasa.

Photobucket

Easy Jambalaya

2 tsp of Olive Oil
3/4 lb Chicken Breast
12 oz Kielbasa
1 Onion
1 Bell Pepper
3 Cloves Garlic
1/4 tsp Cayenne (More or Less, To Taste)
1/2 tsp Onion Powder
1/2 tsp Paprika
1 tsp Oregano
1 tsp Thyme
Salt and Pepper, To Taste
2 Cups Enriched Long Grain Rice
4 Cups Stock or Broth
3 Bay Leaves
2 tsp Worchestershire Sauce
1 tsp Hot Sauce (More or Less, To Taste)

Cut the chicken and kielbasa into bite sized pieces. Heat the olive oil in a large pan, and saute the meats until brown, about 5 minutes.

Photobucket

Dice the onion and bell pepper. Peel and mince the garlic. Mix all the seasonings together.

Add the vegetables, garlic, and seasonings to the pan. Cook for five minutes.

Photobucket

Add the rice, broth, worchestershire, hot sauce, and bay leaves, and bring to a boil.

Photobucket

Cover and cook for 20 minutes.

Photobucket

Enjoy.

Photobucket

When I made this (I weigh everything I use, so some things might be more or less when you make it. I also used Turkey kielbasa.), the whole recipe had about 2600 calories. If you divide it 6 ways, that would be approximately 435 calories a serving. That’s not too bad, in my opinion.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Easy Jambalaya

  1. arzea says:

    This looks great! I have a really easy recipe here: http://azcubed.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/chicken-and-sausage-jambalaya/ which is 340 cals per serving!

  2. My husband lived in Louisiana for a while when he was a kid, so Jambalaya is a big fave here too…we made it our New Year Day tradition because…and this is total herasy here in Pittsburgh…we don’t like sauerkrout. GASP! We use celery instead of the bell pepper and for special occasions I’ll put in a can of those tiny shrimp or a a bit of that “crab classic” flavored fish toward the end of cooking, long enough to warm the shrip/fish through and let it give just a bit of the flavor. Now I want Jambalaya. MMM…might have to change my plans for later in the week.

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s so delicious! I like it because you can make it extra spicy when you want it, or leave it less spicy if you have spice sensitive people around (like my daughter).

      I used to haaaate sauerkraut, which is unheard of in my pa dutch family, haha. I’ve grown to like it, though, just in the past few years.

  3. I love Jambalaya! I’ve been to NOLA many times since we don’t live that far away and so I’ve had lots of the dish – yours looks very authentic and delicious!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I’ve never been to NOLA. I’ve never really been out of the north east, other than Florida. So, I can’t really compare mine to authentic, haha. It was pretty delicious, though. One day, I’ll make it down that way!

  4. Your food pictures look amazing, I’m getting a tad hungry just looking at them! Definitely want to try this one out!! (and the brownie in the mug, yes please!)

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #16 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #26 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #76 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

