Butter Cookies

Due to Hurricane Sandy, The Governor of New Jersey has postponed Halloween for the state until Monday.  That means there’s still time to make some yummy Halloween snacks!  Any excuse to make snacks, right?

Well, these cookies would work for any occasion, but I made them for Halloween.  All you would have to do is switch out the sprinkles and not use a Halloween cookie pan.

This was the ‘sugar cookie’ recipe on my awesome Halloween cookie pan.  I figured I would try it out because it had a good chance of actually working with the pan.  They were pretty delicious, but closer to a butter cookie than a sugar cookie.  In fact, I checked, and this recipe is identical to the butter cookie recipe I use for my cookie press.

It’s a really amazing, basic butter cookie recipe to have on hand.  Like I mentioned, it works really well in a shaped cookie pan, a cookie press, or even just rolled into balls.  So, go make this and celebrate a belated Halloween with everyone here in New Jersey!

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Butter Cookies

1 Cup Butter, Softened (2 Sticks)
1 1/2 Cup Sugar
1 Egg
1 1/2 tsp Vanilla
2 3/4 Cup Flour
1 tsp Salt
Sprinkles (Optional)

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream together the sugar and salt.  Add the egg, salt, and vanilla, beat well.

Add the flour, a little at a time, and mix until combined.

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Stir in the sprinkles if you’re using them.

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

If you’re using a cookie press, make the cookies according to the directions that came with the press.

For the shaped cookie pan, spray and flour the shapes, and press about 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons of dough into the bottom.

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

If you’re using just plain cookie sheets, roll 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons of dough into balls and arranged on sprayed baking pan.

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Bake for 9-10 minutes, or until they’re a light golden brown and spring back when poked.

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Easy Butter Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Enjoy!!

You could also switch the vanilla out for any other flavor.  Try almond or lemon extract for a totally different cookie!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Butter Cookies

  1. Love sugar/butter cookies! These sound lovely.

  2. justjaynes says:

    Looks like a great simple recipe, I’m going to try it! The great thing about it is that I usually have all the ingredients on hand, just need to get the butter out to soften.

    I’m going to try them with lemon extract!!

    Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

  3. mhdriver says:

    Pam, I love cookies but I have to watch my sugars. I’ll pass on this one. Thank You

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #26 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

