Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake

This recipe is another great one from Rachael Ray, from her book 365: No Repeats to be exact.  Seriously, she makes some awesome food.  I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed by one of her recipes.

I love southwest flavors, and this recipe definitely didn’t disappoint  I would seriously make this all the time if it wasn’t so time consuming.  I’m not sure how she got this done in 30 minutes, and it uses a lot of pots and pans.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s definitely worth it!  It was AMAZING.  I’m just usually too lazy to deal with all that cleanup!  It is worth it every now and then, though, or all the time if you have someone to clean up after you.

Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake by Om Nomalicious

Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake

16 oz Penne Pasta
1 lb Ground Meat (I Used Turkey)
1 Tbsp Cumin
1 Tbsp Ground Coriander
2 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 Yellow Onion, Chopped
5 Cloves Garlic, Minced
2 Chipotles in Adobo Sauce, Minced
2 Tbsp Butter
2 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups Milk
1 1/2 Cups Cheddar Cheese, Shredded
1 Tbsp Dried Cilantro
1 Tbsp Dried Parsley
1 14 oz Can Fire Roasted Tomatoes
1 Cup Frozen Corn

Preheat oven to 350F.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook pasta according to package directions.

While the pasta is cooking, brown the turkey.  When turkey is almost fully cooked, add the garlic, peppers, corn, and onion.  Finish cooking until done and onions are translucent.

Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake by Om Nomalicious

If needed, drain the mixture. You shouldn’t need to do this if you use lean ground meat. Mix in the cumin, coriander, and chili powder.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a saucepan.  Whisk in the flour, cilantro, and parsley and allow mixture to cook for 1 to 2 minutes.

Slowly whisk in the milk, making sure the flour mixture completely dissolves. Bring milk to a boil and let simmer a few minutes until it thickens.

Remove from heat and stir in the cheese and fire roasted tomatoes.

Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake by Om Nomalicious

Drain the pasta and pour it back into large pot.  Mix in the meat mixture and cheese sauce.

Pour into baking dish.

Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake by Om Nomalicious

Bake for 30-45 minutes or until brown and bubbly.

Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake by Om Nomalicious

Enjoy. Seriously. Enjoy the crap out of this. Daniel and I did. Yuuuuum.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in beef, main dish, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chili Con Queso Pasta Bake

  1. You had me at Con Queso! Anything with those words are my fave’s! Looks so delicious – great job and worth the dirty kitchen.

  2. Sounds delicious! I’ll give it a try veery soon 😉

  3. mhdriver says:

    I might have to try this one. I think I haave everything to make it.

  4. Nicole :) says:

    This looks great and VERY easy to convert to gluten free. Thanks!!!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #61 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Carla says:

    I love it when pasta dishes have my favorite flavors taken from a traditional dish. I may attempt a stovetop version to cut back on the cooking time 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      I think it would work find stovetop if you just mixed everything together at the end and made sure it was still warm. I lack the ability to time things, so one of the ingredients always ends up cold by time I mix them 😉

Leave a Reply

