Cauliflower Gratin

I know we haven’t been posting too much lately. Things have been a little crazy for both of us. Jecca’s mom is in the hospital with a bunch of different ailments. I’ve been waiting on more test results from my doctor. I wrote about it in this post on my personal blog if you’re interested in the specifics.

It’s almost Thanksgiving, though. I have food on my mind all the time. So, I’m here to share with you! I already posted my two favorite holiday side dishes, Baked Corn and Green Bean Bundles. I don’t have photos of my desserts or turkey.

I have nothing Thanksgiving-y to post, guys.  I’ve very disappointed in myself!

So, instead I’m going to just post one of my favorite side dishes. It’s really super easy, delicious, and the calories aren’t too bad either. Maybe you could fit this into your Thanksgiving dinner, even if it isn’t traditional!

Delicious, Cheesy, Cauliflower Gratin from Om Nomalicious

Cauliflower Gratin

2 Heads Of Cauliflower (Or 2 12oz Bags)
2 Tbsp Butter
2 Tbsp Flour
3 Cloves Garlic
2 Cups Milk
1 1/2 Cups Italian Blend Cheese

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cut the cauliflower into florets and steam it until just tender, or pour the bag into a pan and steam that until not frozen. Drain the cauliflower very well. I usually let it sit in the colander while I’m preparing the sauce.

Delicious, Cheesy, Cauliflower Gratin from Om Nomalicious

Melt the butter in a sauce pan. Add the garlic, and cook for 2 minutes, making sure it doesn’t burn. Then, whisk in the flour and allow it to cook another 2 minutes or so.

Slowly whisk in the milk, a little at a time, until the flour mixture is completely dissolved. Allow sauce to simmer for a few minutes, or until it thickens up, whisking constantly.

Remove pan from heat and add 1 cup of the cheese. I used an Italian Blend this time, but I’ve also made this with Parmesan Blend. Both ways are delicious.

Delicious, Cheesy, Cauliflower Gratin from Om Nomalicious

Spray a baking dish with PAM or other cooking spray, put the cauliflower into the pan, pour the sauce over cauliflower, and top with remaining 1/2 cup of cheese.

Delicious, Cheesy, Cauliflower Gratin from Om Nomalicious

Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until browned and bubbly.

Delicious, Cheesy, Cauliflower Gratin from Om Nomalicious

Enjoy!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cauliflower Gratin

  1. Jittery Cook says:

    Looks yummy and I hope everyone feels better ASAP!

  2. quilt32 says:

    I did read your personal blog and you definitely have a right to complain about the medical attention you’ve been getting. It’s so frustrating and miserable to be in this kind of situation. I hope it all works out well for you.

    The cauliflower looks great.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  3. tracye1 says:

    Oh, YUM!!! I have a head of cauliflower that would look and taste perfect in that dish…..

  4. Juliet says:

    I’m usually not a big fan of cauliflower, but I do like it with cheese. My son asked me to pick up cauliflower a few days ago, so I have some in my fridge. And now I have a yummy recipe. :0)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Cauliflower is tricky because it’s pretty bland. You need a strong flavor (like cheese) to go with it, or it’s just blah. Hopefully you enjoy this!!!

  5. shittydad says:

    This looks like something my mom sometimes make. It’s delicious!

  6. I’m so totally making this! Hope Jecca’s mom feels better. Family trumps blogging every time. Love to All

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #32 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #39 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

