Vanilla Blossoms and Pumpkin Spice Blossoms

Peanut butter blossoms are one of my favorite types of cookies. They’re the peanut butter cookies with a Hershey Kiss pushed into the middle. My grandmother would make them every year while I was growing up, and I have kept this delicious tradition going.

My friend Megan is allergic to peanut butter, though. I couldn’t let her miss this deliciousness! So, I took a sugar cookie recipe and adapted it to make what I call Vanilla Blossoms. Most people would probably just call them thumbprint cookies. Is that a regional thing? I’m not sure.

I’m going to actually include two recipes in this post: the plain version and a pumpkin spice version, two recipes for the price of one! I just want to show how versatile this recipe is! You could add whatever you wanted to create lots of different cookies.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

Vanilla Blossoms
(Makes 22-24 Cookies)

1/2 Cup Butter
1/2 Cup Sugar
1 Egg
1 Tbsp Vanilla
1 1/4 Cups Flour
1/4 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Salt
22-24 Kisses (I Used Caramel Kisses)

Preheat Oven to 325F

Cream together the butter and sugar.

Add the egg and vanilla. Mix until combined.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients, making sure it’s mixed well.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

Roll the dough into balls, approximately 1 inch in diameter. Place on sprayed baking sheet.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

Bake for 12-15 minutes.

While the cookies are baking, unwrap the kisses.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

As soon as you pull the cookies out, push one kiss into the center of each.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

 

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

Let cool on the pan for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

These take a while to set up because the chocolate melts. If you use Hugs, they’ll take a little longer. Apparently white chocolate takes longer to set than milk chocolate.

These Vanilla Blossom Cookies by Om Nomalicious are Delicious and Easily Dressed Up

This variation uses Pumpkin Spice Kisses. I found them around Halloween at Target. They are seriously so amazingly delicious. I bought a few bags and tossed them in my freezer. That way I could make a few batches of these!

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

 

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

Pumpkin Spice Blossoms
(Makes 22-24 Cookies)

1/2 Cup Butter
1/2 Cup Sugar
1 Egg
1 Tbsp Vanilla
1 1/4 Cup Flour
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Ginger
1/4 tsp Cloves
1/4 tsp Nutmeg
22-24 Pumpkin Spice Kisses

Preheat Oven to 325F

Cream together the butter and sugar.

Add the egg and vanilla. Mix until combined.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients, making sure it’s mixed well.

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

Mix the cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg together in a shallow dish or plate.

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

Roll the dough into balls, approximately 1 inch in diameter.

Roll the balls in the spice mix. I dipped them in the spices, then rolled them in my hand to coat. They had the perfect amount of spice using this method.

Place cookies on sprayed baking sheet.

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

Bake for 12-15 minutes.

While the cookies are baking, unwrap the kisses.

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

As soon as you pull the cookies out, push one kiss into the center of each.

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

 

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

Let cool on the pan for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

These Pumpkin Spice Blossoms from Om Nomalicious are the Perfect Fall Cookie

These few simple changes made these taste like totally different cookies! What variations would you try?

For the Vanilla Blossoms recipe, click here!!

For the Pumpkin Spice Blossoms, click here!!

This recipe also posted on Flying on Jess Fuel.

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Vanilla Blossoms and Pumpkin Spice Blossoms

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    These both look great! Very nice pictures – I don’t think I could ever get tired of seeing cookies and Hershey kisses lined up on a baking sheet. šŸ™‚

  2. Gail says:

    These are amazing. I’m not very fond of pumpkin, but these are good. I should say now pumpkin pie only. Texture thing I guess

  3. Jess says:

    Yum! These look great! I am hosting a Christmas cookie blog hop if you are interested in sharing them!

  4. Dianty says:

    Those look amazing! They’re one of my favorite cooks šŸ™‚

  5. These look so great! I’m happy you put on Recipe NewZ because I was invited to be a pinner on there for their community board – I was able to pin this to it earlier today. Hope it gets you some great traffic!

  6. I will definitely be trying the Pumpkin Spice version!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #26 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Sunbutter Blossom Cookie- Allergy-free, Vegan « Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

