Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas

Guess what, guys! This is my 100th post.  Om Nomalicious has a ton more recipes than that, but this one marks 100 posted by me.  Who knew I made so many different types of food?

And, why do I have such a hard time menu planning?  I can never think of any ideas!

I’ve made this recipe two weeks in a row.  It fulfills my once a week meatless meal requirement.  The family doesn’t mind, though. The gobble this up, and the husband even said meat wouldn’t add anything to the flavor.

I saw this recipe for spicy black bean and sweet potato quesadillas on Pinterest, and knew I had to try it!  Now you guys should, too.  You won’t regret it!  Sweet potato and black bean is my new favorite flavor combination.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas

2 Medium Sweet Potatoes
1 15oz Can Black Beans
1 Cup Frozen Corn
1/2 Cup Salsa
1 Tbsp Cumin
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 tsp Ground Coriander
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Oregano
Salt, To Taste
8 Tortillas
1-2 Cups of Cheese
1-2 tsp Olive Oil

Start by peeling and dicing the sweet potatoes.  Place them in a pot, cover them with water, and boil until fork tender.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

Mix together the black beans, corn, salsa, spices, and the cooked sweet potato.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

Heat the oil in a skillet.  Place a tortilla in the skillet and spread the bean/potato/corn mixture on half of the tortilla.  Top with 1/8-1/4 cup of cheese, depending on how cheesy you like it.

Fold the empty half of the tortilla over the mixture and allow it to cook a few minutes until the cheese is melted and the tortilla crisps.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

Flip the quesadilla and allow the other side to crisp.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

Place quesadilla onto plate, and cut into 2-4 equal pieces.  Serve with extra salsa, sour cream, or any other topping you like!

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

What are you waiting for? Even my cats like these!

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas by Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, meatless, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quesadillas

  1. Jennay says:

    Looks delicious…can’t wait to try it!! =)

  2. Congratulations on your 100th post! 🙂 And this recipe sounds WONDERFUL!!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations! Oh, and YUM!!!

  4. Angie says:

    Congratulations!!! May have to add this to my recipe box too. 🙂

  5. TheLittleGSP says:

    Sweet potato and beans… Interesting! We have some sweet potatoes in the fridge. I’ll have to try it!

  6. Congratulations!! It doesn’t seem like that long ago that you were just thinking about starting a new blog. Excellent recipe!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! We started Om Nom in March, then I made my other blog in May! I can’t believe it’s been that long!!

      This recipe is delicious! Make it!

  7. To be totally cheesy….. Omnomnomnom!

  8. Jennifer M. says:

    I have never tried sweet potatoes and black beans – apparently I’ve been missing out on something great! Can’t wait to try these (like your kitty)…

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s an amazing combination. I’ve just discovered it myself, and I’m sad I haven’t had it all my life! You’ll have to try it!

      My cat is so bad, haha.

  9. arzea says:

    This looks so yum!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #26 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. nursefrugal says:

    Looks so healthy and delicious! I need to try it 😉

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #27 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. mommyeffer says:

    PAM!!! I finally figured out how to follow you! yay! great post and I SERIOUSLY am addicted to sweet potatoes!! ❤❤❤

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yay!! Welcome to my blogs 😀 Sweet potato and black bean is my favorite flavor combination! Make these now 😉 I’m having them tonight!

  14. mommyeffer says:

    Reblogged this on Mommy eFFer and commented:
    This looks incredible and I HAVE to make this for dinner this week!!

  15. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #28 | Pa-BLAM!

  16. Pingback: Sweet Potato & Black Bean Breakfast Burrito | Mommy eFFer

  17. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #36 | Pa-BLAM!

  18. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #42 | Pa-BLAM!

  19. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #45 | Pa-BLAM!

  20. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #48 | Pa-BLAM!

  21. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

  22. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #65 | Pa-BLAM!

  23. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #68 | Pa-BLAM!

  24. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #70 | Pa-BLAM!

  25. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #87 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

