Bacon Cheeseburger Soup

This recipe started with The Vampire Diet. She posted a recipe for Cheeseburger Soup, which included canned cheese soup and other processed foods. We started discussing ways to create this recipe with mostly unprocessed ingredients, and I decided to tackle it. I’m glad I did, because this soup is delicious.

It’s also pretty perfect for the dark, rainy, cold days we’ve been having!

baconsoup1-1

Bacon Cheeseburger Soup

1 Pound Ground Beef
1 Tbsp Ketchup
1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 Tbsp Mustard
10 Slices Bacon, Cut Into Pieces
1 Onion, Diced
2-3 Carrots, Diced
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1 Tbsp Dried Parsley
1/2 Pound Red Potatoes, Cubed
4 Cups Chicken Broth
1 14.5 Ounce Can Diced Tomatoes
1 Cup Milk or Half and Half
2 Cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese
2 Cups Chopped Spinach or Lettuce
4 Hamburger Buns
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

First, mix the ground beef with the ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, and mustard and brown it in a pan.  Set it aside.

Meanwhile, in a large pot, cook the bacon for about 5-7 minutes.  Drain all but a tablespoon of the fat, saving another tablespoon for later.

Bacon

Add the onion, carrot, parsley, and garlic to the pan.  Season with salt and pepper if desired and cook until veggies are almost done, about 7 minutes.

Vegetables

Add the broth, browned ground beef, and potatoes.  Bring to a boil, and simmer 10-15 minutes until the potatoes are done.

Soup

Add the undrained diced tomatoes, milk, cheese, and spinach.  Simmer until cheese is melted.

SONY DSC

While the soup is cooking, cut the hamburger buns into cubes.

Bacon Cheeseburger Soup by Om Nomalicious

Toss the bread cubes in the reserved tablespoon of bacon fat, season with salt and pepper, and spread them onto a baking pan.

baconsoup3-1

Bake at 400F until they are golden brown, about 10 minutes, flipping the cubes halfway through.

baconsoup2-1

Serve the soup with the homemade croutons.

baconsoup8-1

Enjoy!

baconsoup-1

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Bacon Cheeseburger Soup

  1. This makes me want a bacon cheeseburger now…haha love it!

  2. That is pretty amazing! I have a pound of hamburger in the fridge right now waiting on me to make something out of it – Mr. Picky Eater will love this! (minus the spinach) 🙂

  3. Jennay says:

    Yum!! I will have to try this recipe out!! =) Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Wow! It looks like heaven…you did a wonderful job with this recipe. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. denlyn3 says:

    I love a good soup this time of year and this looks like a winner.

  6. Thanks for taking up the challenge and making the fix! I’m switching to your version for sure. In a nod to the hubster’s family history, I’m tinkering with an unprocessed, lower fat version too. Will let you know how that goes 🙂

  7. Yum! This sounds great! And a lot better than canned cheese soup which just sounds… scary.

  8. Now that is one inspiring soup 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. mhdriver says:

    how did you know I was a soup guy or am I just a big ole slurpy.. Ha ha. How have you been.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan #1 | mamatothreelittlebirds

  11. Pingback: Case of the Mondays | mamatothreelittlebirds

Leave a Reply

