Spoon Corn Bread

Last summer, Daniel and I ate at Don Pablo’s for the first time ever.  They offered corn bread as one of their sides.  Daniel and I both love cornbread, so we, of course, selected that side.  When we were served, I was confused.  It wasn’t bread, but more of a pudding.

I was born and raised in the north.  I’m not well versed on cornbread.  I know I like it, and I’ve tried several recipes I have found online and in cookbooks.  This, however, perplexed me.  It was delicious, very delicious, and Daniel asked me to try to make it.

Oh man.  I didn’t know where to start, but Google is my friend.  I soon found out that is it a concoction known as Spoon Corn Bread, and started trying out recipes.  They were all good, but none of them were as amazing as Don Pablo’s.

Finally, I found a super simple recipe in a comment on a message board.  I gave it a try with a few small changes, and YUM.  It was perfect, and is now my ‘go to’ recipe for corn bread.

Spoon Corn Bread

Spoon Corn Bread

1/2 Cup Butter, Softened
2/3 Cup Cornmeal
1/4 Cup Milk
1 (14.75 Ounce) Can Creamed Corn
1/3 Cup Sugar
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking Powder

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream together the butter and sugar.  Add the milk and mix well.

Add the corn baking powder, salt, and cornmeal.  Stir until just combined.

Spoon Corn Bread Batter

Pour batter into a sprayed baking dish.  Put the baking dish inside a larger baking dish, and add about 1 inch of water to the larger pan.  The amount of water does not have to be exact.

Spoon Corn Bread in Pan

Cover and bake for 50-60 minutes.

Spoon Corn Bread Covered

 

Spoon Corn Bread Baked

The recipe I based this off of suggested using an ice cream scoop to serve it, but I just used a spoon.  Dish it out, and top with a drizzle of honey.

Spoon Corn Bread

 

Spoon Corn Bread

If you’re feeling really unhealthy, you can always add more butter, too!

Spoon Corn Bread

Enjoy!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Spoon Corn Bread

  1. Dave says:

    Interesting – I’ve only made this from package, and couldn’t find it in the store recently, so skipped it. Thanks for the recipe. Some of these recipes call for masa flour, maybe I’ll try it with that too.

    An aside: Wow, that “Don Pablo’s” web site is a nightmare… reminds me of the Simpson’s episode with Moe’s Family Feedbag. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Don Pablo’s site is a mess. It’s totally flash based and annoying!

      The recipe I based this on used half cornmeal and half masa flour. The first time I made it, I was too excited to wait. I didn’t have the flour, so I used all cornmeal. It came out great, so I never bothered purchasing the flour. I’m sure it’s equally amazing, though!!

      Also, I went ahead and changed my about me section 😉

  2. Hmmmmm……..I am really well versed in the cornbread world but somehow spoon corn bread has escaped me. Looks good!

  3. We first had cornbread when we visited America some years ago and I loved it. We don’t have it here. This sweet puddingy one sounds delicious. 🙂

  4. Mmmm I love this pudding version of cornbread my friend 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  5. TheLittleGSP says:

    Yum… this looks delicious!

  6. Angie says:

    Looks yummy, my recipe book is getting fuller!!

  7. jgann22 says:

    Oh, I need some Now !!!!!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #14 | Love, Harmony, Peace

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #77 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Peanut Butter Brownie Pudding | omnomalicious

Leave a Reply

