Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

It’s been cold lately, a little too cold. There’s a huge storm set to hit us this weekend, and I am not looking forward to it. The only good thing about cold weather, in my opinion, is that it’s perfect soup weather.

I love soup. Any excuse to make it is good in my book, including cold weather.

That means this weekend, while the snow is falling outside, I’m going to be inside eating this sweet and spicy soup with my family. Hopefully it will help keep us warm and cozy!

I discovered this recipe on Pinterest, of course. Where else do I get my recipes these days? I found it on this site, which credits it to Rachael Ray. I couldn’t find the original recipe, though. I also didn’t look that hard. A small attempt counts, though. Right?

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

2 1/2 Pounds Sweet Potatoes, Peeled and Chopped
6 Slices Bacon, Chopped
1 Onion, Chopped
2 Carrots, Peeled and Chopped
1-2 Chipotles in Adobo Plus Sauce
1 Tbsp Lime Juice
1 Tbsp Honey
3 Cups Broth (Chicken or Veggie)
1 Cup Half and Half
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Start by boiling the sweet potatoes until done, about 12 to 15 minutes.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

In another pot, cook the chopped bacon for about 5 minutes or until crisp. Remove the bacon from the pan and set aside, keeping about a tablespoon of bacon fat in the pan.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Add the chopped onion, carrots, and chipotles to the pan, and allow to cook until onions are softened and become translucent, about 6-7 minutes.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Add the lime juice and honey, season with salt and pepper, and allow to cook for another minute or two.

Add the broth, bring to a boil, and allow to simmer for about 5 minutes or until the carrots are tender.

At this point, add half the sweet potatoes and puree with either an immersion blender, food processor, or blender.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Stir in the remaining sweet potatoes, the bacon, and the half an half. Return to desired temperature.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Enjoy!

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

This soup is extra yummy with cheese and/or sour cream on top.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

You can make an equally delicious vegetarian version of this soup by using a tablespoon of olive oil instead of the bacon. It’s also good with a can of black beans, half pureed into the mix and half added with last of the sweet potatoes.

When I made this with one chipotle, it had a bit of a kick. It wasn’t too spicy for my spice sensitive kid, though. I made it with two on another occasion. I just pulled the chipotles out before pureeing and reserved some for the child before adding the peppers back in and zapping with the immersion blender a second time. It was pretty spicy, but not overly so. I think 1 1/2 would be perfect for me, but everyone has a different spice level.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Angie says:

    Can’t wait to try this, I love that you have a printable version too. Stay warm 😀

  2. The Foodies says:

    Love it!!! I have a similar recipe, but with coconut milk… Makes it smooth like velvet….

    • pamasaurus says:

      That sounds pretty amazing, except coconut makes my tongue and the roof of my mouth itch. I believe I have a mild allergy, so I try to stay away from it. It is pretty tasty, though!

  3. TammyeHoney says:

    I am drooling already and I love working with fresh yams so this is a must have recipe. Thank you so much.

    • pamasaurus says:

      No prob! Hope you get to enjoy it soon!

      Nothing is as yummy as a sweet potato!

      • TammyeHoney says:

        I also love sweet potato fries but get sick every time that I eat them. I make the sweet potatoes mashed with honey and butter a lot instead of regular potatoes.

      • pamasaurus says:

        I love sweet potato fries, too! Is it the grease that makes you sick? I know I can’t handle fried food, so I usually bake them. Have you tried that?

        Mashed is pretty amazing, too!!

      • TammyeHoney says:

        Even the baked seem to not work well for me…so I stick to the soup or mashed or put them in vegetable soup

      • pamasaurus says:

        That is also pretty delicious. It’s weird that just the one way makes you sick. I guess it happens, and you just learn to enjoy them all the other ways.

        I have a recipe around here somewhere for sweet potato and black bean quesadillas. It’s amazing!

      • TammyeHoney says:

        would love that, although I am not a big fan of black beans I add refried beans or navy beans

  4. You have taught me so much about sweet potatoes! I grew up with them being grown in my back yard and had no idea there were so many ways to fix them. I swear, this soup recipe sounds delicious! I am going to leave out the hot stuff and make if for Rocket! he loves sweet potatoes and is now (at 10 months old) refusing all baby food………..he looks a lot like me when he gags! 🙂 Anyway, he is going to love this. I’m making him tomato alphabet soup right now and your recipe will be next!

  5. Juliet says:

    Oh my, this looks delicious! I’m not able to do dairy, so I’d probably substitute the half and half with coconut milk. But I definitely want to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing! :0)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      I had another commenter say that she has a similar recipe with coconut milk, and it works fantastic! So, I have high hopes it’ll work out that way.

      Unfortunately, I believe I have a mild allergy to coconut since anything coconut makes my mouth itch, haha. I bet it would work with soymilk or something else, too. It would probably be pretty delicious with just another cup of broth 😉 Oh, the possibilities!

  6. Looks so warm and delicious my friend, craving this 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. mhdriver says:

    I love sweet potatoes and I love soup can’t figure out how I could go wrong with this.

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #38 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #10 | Love, Harmony, Peace

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Tuesday #19 | Love, Harmony, Peace

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #52 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Sweet Potato and Black Bean Soup | omnomalicious

Leave a Reply

