Homemade Oreos

I’ve always been an Oreo fan.  They’re just so delicious, especially when dunked in milk until soggy.  Om nom nom nom.

It’s been a few years since we’ve started cutting out most processed foods.  I try to make most things from fresh ingredients, we try to shop the outside of the store, and we avoid fast food like the plague.  You know what happened?  Processed foods no longer taste like they used to.  They all have this chemical taste to them, and I don’t like it.

This hasn’t been a big deal for me.  I haven’t really missed a lot of food.  One thing that made me sad, though, is the loss of Oreos.  No longer did they taste like chocolate deliciousness; they now tasted like chocolate flavored chemicals.  Yuck.  I did some Googling and came across this recipe for Homemade Oreos from My Kitchen Addiction.

It seemed easy enough.  I went ahead and tried it… and they were a hit with everyone.  I seriously ate more than I care to admit!

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

Homemade Oreos

Cookies:

1 Cup Butter, Unsalted
1 Cup Sugar
1 Large Egg
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
2 Cups Flour
3/4 Cup Cocoa Powder
1 tsp salt

Filling:

1/2 Cup Butter, Softened
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
Pinch of Salt
2 Tbsp Milk
3-3 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

Start the cookies by beating the butter and sugar together until creamy.  Add the vanilla and egg and beat until combined.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, cocoa powder, and salt with a whisk.

Gradually add the dry mix to the wet ingredients, mixing well between additions.

Divide the dough in half, wrap with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least one hour.

Once the dough is refrigerated, preheat oven to 350F.

Pull half the dough out of the refrigerator and roll it out onto a flour surface.  Roll it until it’s about 1/4 inch in thickness.

Use a small cookie cutter to cut out the cookies.  Transfer them to a sprayed or parchment lined baking sheet.  My cookie cutter was about an inch from tip to tip.  Jen from My Kitchen Addiction said hers were 2 inches.  So, either should work.

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

Repeat with remaining refrigerated dough.

Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes.

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

Allow them to cool on a wire rack.

To prepare the filling, mix the butter, vanilla, salt, and milk until combined.  It will be a little lumpy, but that’s ok.  Gradually add the sugar until it’s the desired consistency.  Jen describes it as “slightly thicker than a cupcake icing.”

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

I rolled the filling into small balls and smooshed it between two cookies.  Jen piped the filling into her cookies.  Of course hers looked nicer, but mine was probably easier.  Use whichever method you’d prefer.

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

Devour these before everyone else does!

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

This made a ton of cookies, about 6 dozen. That’s probably because I used such a small cookie cutter. The recipe could easily be halved, though!

Homemade Oreos - Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Homemade Oreos

  1. These look great! Mr. Picky Eater loves Oreos (only double stuff) and sometimes they are $5 a package these days – this is a much better choice. I”m pinning this so next time I have all the ingredients I can make some!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I noticed how expensive they were the other day. What about them makes them worth that??? Definitely give these a try; they’re delicious!

      My friend just made them tonight with some Black Cocoa Powder. I’ve never used this, so I’m not sure where she got it… but it’s really dark cocoa powder. She said they were amazing, and I think they might give these a bit more of an oreo flavor since oreos are so dark.

  2. Wow! Can’t wit to make these… 😉

  3. Medeja says:

    I am sure they are better than the ones from the store! And I am sure they taste great with a glass of milk!

  4. I love your star shape much more than the usual types 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Fantastic recipe, Oreos one of my favourite 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! These are much better than store bought Oreos. If you can find ‘black cocoa powder’, they’re even better 😉

  6. Angie says:

    Great recipe..I’ll be on the hunt for Black cocao powder. 😀

  7. msdulce says:

    The star cookie shape is so festive and beautiful! Mr. M & I have an annual xmas cookie bake-a-palooza where we make like, 600 cookies to send to friends & family… these are definitely going in the tins next year. Assuming I don’t eat them all first.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It’s part of a set that my mom gave to me. There’s 6 different little cutters for different holidays, a star, heart, leaf, pumpkin, and a few others that I can’t think of at the moment.

      Luckily the recipe makes a lot… so you can eat a bunch and still have some leftover to put in the boxes 😉 That’s what I did this year, haha.

  8. Pingback: Double Chocolate Banana Bread | omnomalicious

Leave a Reply

