Double Chocolate Banana Bread

For my birthday, my friend gave me a huge container of black cocoa powder.  What’s black cocoa powder?  It’s cocoa powder that has had almost all of it’s fat removed.  When that happens, it becomes very, very alkalized, and very, very dark and rich.

We had a discussion about it before when I posted my recipe for Oreo Cookies.  She used some black cocoa to make them, and said they were really delicious.

I admit that I have not made the Oreos with the new cocoa yet.  I need to do that soon, though!

Megan was over last week, and suggested we bake something.  I had a few over-ripe bananas in my kitchen.  So, she found a recipe for Double Chocolate Banana Bread.  With a little research and such, we set to work.  Because the black cocoa is very alkaline, it creates an issue with the baking soda/baking powder levels in recipes.  We found a way around that by using half black and half regular cocoa.  This recipe would be equally delicious with all regular cocoa, though.

I love how dark this came out with the black cocoa, though!  Only downside? It was VERY hard to photograph!

double chocolate banana bread - om nomalicious

Double Chocolate Banana Bread

3 Very Ripe Bananas
1 Stick (8 Tbsp) Unsalted Butter, Softened
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
2 Tbsp Milk
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Cup Cocoa Powder (I used 1/4 cup of both kinds)
1 Cup flour
1 Cup Semi-Sweet Chips

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream together the butter and brown sugar. Mash in the bananas and add the eggs, milk, and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the baking soda, cocoa powder, and flour.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture. Making sure to mix well after each addition.

double chocolate banana bread - om nomalicious

Stir in the baking chips.

double chocolate banana bread - om nomalicious

Pour batter into a sprayed loaf pan.

double chocolate banana bread - om nomalicious

Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Just remember there are melted chips in there, so that might affect the toothpick as well!

double chocolate banana bread - om nomalicious

Let cool for a few minutes, remove from pan, and enjoy.

This is DELICIOUS while it’s still warm, but still really, really yummy when cooled completely.

double chocolate banana bread - om nomalicious
What are you waiting for? Go bake now!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Double Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. fionaward says:

    So naughty – I love it!

  2. The Mouse says:

    Come to the darkside, we have banana bread. Hee hee! Good job, picture looks good.

  3. Looks moist, rich, and delicious! I must find some of this black cocoa powder soon!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! My friend found it at the farmer’s market, sold by the pound. Apparently some major brands make it, though.

      This would be TOTALLY delicious with just regular cocoa powder, though 😉

  4. That is utterly one of the most delicious looking breads ever 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. jennypugh says:

    I can’t wait to try this! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day In My Life | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Angie says:

    Looks delicious!!!!!

  8. Terra says:

    What a great recipe. I made mini and regular muffins, with all dutch processed cocoa and they were delicious. So rich and moist. This will be pinned into the cabinet for frequent use. I’m gonna try pumpkin instead of banana soon.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! Glad it worked out for you 😀 Let me know how the pumpkin goes. Pumpkin muffins are amazing!

  9. Carla says:

    When I first heard about black cocoa, I knew I need to get my hand on some to make Oreos! I havent yet, but now I’ll add this bread to the baking list as well.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I have an amazing recipe for homemade oreos around here somewhere! Just remember to only replace half the cocoa with the black because it’s so alkaline. Hopefully you can make some soon!

      This bread is pretty amazing. I just made it into muffins without the extra chips, and YUM. Hope you like it!

  10. Robin says:

    Salt is a necessary ingredient in baking, and since this recipe calls for unsalted butter, I knew it was going to need some. I wasn’t sure how much to add, so I guessed, and added 3/4 teaspoon which was too much. Next time I’ll either use salted butter, or 1/2 tsp salt. Good recipe though, thanks for sharing.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Salt is used in baking for flavor, strengthening gluten strands (really important in French style breads), control of yeast growth, and aiding in browning/color. I made this recipe without it, and it came out fine. There are enough flavors going on, as well as color to offset the ‘missing’ salt. There’s no yeast, and I actually didn’t want strong gluten strands, as that can make the bread chewier.

      Usually baking recipes will call for a 1/4 tsp of salt, though, so maybe start there next time!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your results. Try it without salt next time. You’d be surprised 😉

Leave a Reply

