Homemade Tomato Soup with Mozzarella Chunks

I love tomato soup.  Love it.  It’s amazing.  I grew up eating the Campbell’s variety with toasted cheese.  Yes, I did say toasted cheese.  I don’t know if this was a local term or if my family was just weird, but I was taught to called them toasted cheese instead of grilled cheese.

This recipe doesn’t have toast -or grilled- cheese sandwiches, though.  Instead, it’s a creamy, homemade soup with breaded and baked pieces of mozzarella cheese.  It’s a perfect combination, and my family gobbles it up anytime I make it!

I used a recipe from Peas and Crayons as inspiration.  I didn’t change it much, actually, because hers was pretty amazing to start with!  After trying this recipe, I know I’ll never go back to the canned soup (unless I’m short on time!).

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

Homemade Tomato Soup with Mozzarella Chunks

1 28oz Can Tomato Sauce or Pureed Tomatoes
1 15oz Can Fire Roasted Tomatoes
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Onion
2 Carrots
2 Cloves Garlic
1 Cup Vegetable Broth (Or Any Type of Broth)
8 Ounces Cream Cheese
1 Tbsp Dried Basil
1 tsp Sugar
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

8 Ounces Mozzarella Cheese
1/2 Cup Breadcrumbs
1 Egg

For Mozzarella Chunks:

Start by cutting the mozzarella cheese into cubes. I did mine in 1/2 ounce cubes. Put them on some wax paper and freeze until hard. It’s best to do this a day ahead, if you have time.

Once frozen, dip the chunks into the egg and then the bread crumbs. Arrange on a sprayed baking pan.

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

Bake at 350F for about 8-12 minutes, or until browned and melty. The time varies based on the size of your chunks and your oven’s temperament.

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

For Soup:

When you’re ready to start cooking, heat the oil in a large pot and peel and dice the onion, carrots, and garlic.

Add the onions and carrots to the pot and cook until tender. Add the garlic, season with salt and pepper, and allow to cook another 1-2 minutes.

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

Add both cans of tomatoes  broth, cream cheese, sugar, and basil. Bring to a simmer, and allow to cook until flavors blend and carrots are done. Don’t worry too much about the cream cheese. It will melt and be easier to mix in as it cooks.

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

Now comes the fun part. You can either use an immersion blender like I did to blend the soup until creamy, or you can do the same thing in a blender or food processor.

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious

Adjust seasoning if necessary and serve.

Oh! Don’t forget to top with a few of the mozzarella chunks!

Homemade Tomato Soup - Om Nomalicious
I can get four huge bowls out of this recipe, which is perfect for us! The soup itself has around 225 calories when I use fat free cream cheese. The mozzarella balls, when made with part skim mozzarella, come in around 100 calories per ounce of cheese. I put two ounces worth with each bowl because they are amazing.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Homemade Tomato Soup with Mozzarella Chunks

  1. Angie says:

    My grandmother called grilled cheese toasted cheese sandwich 😀 😀 thanks for the memory and thank you for the calories in this recipe….:D 😀 Looks absolutely delicious!!! Cheese Pam really!!!!??? How about some low cal recipies for a change your killing me LOL!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Make this without the cheese… you can have a HUGE bowl for 225 calories. If you have it with two of cheese chunks instead of four, it would only be 325 calories, which is still amazing! I’m all about fitting yummy food into my calorie budget!

      I’m glad I’m not the only one that calls it that!

      Thanks!

  2. Hmmmm….so that’s how you make breaded mozzarella! I have no idea about the freezing! Thanks and the soup looks fantastic!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yeah, if you don’t freeze it, it’ll melt before the outside crisps… and you’ll have a bigger mess than I did 😉

      Thanks!!

  3. Tiffany says:

    Andddddddddddddddddddddddddd I’m going to get mozzarella and carrots tomorrow for this very purpose.

  4. This cheesy soup chunky delicious looking soup is a favourite 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. quilt32 says:

    The soup looks wonderful. We also called sandwiches “toasted cheese” and I’m old enough to be everybody’s grandma.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I’m so glad I’m not the only one to say toasted cheese! I think both ways make sense, but people always laugh at me when I say toasted 😦 haha.

  6. Dabbit says:

    I like tomato soup (prefer Heinz oxtail or veg), but find it seems a bit ‘hot on the throat’ (well the Heinz one), my wife like you loves it (along with cheese).

    • pamasaurus says:

      Cheese just goes so perfectly with tomato soup. It’s a match made in heaven!

      I’ve never noticed Heinz brand soups here. I’m going to have to look, but I almost wonder if it’s just in your country. Interesting!

      • Dabbit says:

        My wife would simply love your recipe, (and my daughter, who would probably do it). I on the other hand am not a cheese lover in anyway, although I do sometimes crave crusty cheese roll (once or twice a year)… We have Campbells here the triple (or double) concentrate version

  7. Dave says:

    Looks great, Pami!
    (and even after just finishing dinner.)

  8. Pingback: Tomato Dill Bisque with Cheese Crisps | jittery cook

  9. mmmarzipan says:

    this looks so tasty! yum!

  10. mhdriver says:

    I like tomato soup but never tried it with the cheeze. I usually have it with peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Sounds good

    • pamasaurus says:

      Tomato soup is amazing with cheese! It’s traditionally served here with a grilled cheese sandwich, but these homemade mozzarella chunks are awesome, too!

      It’s also pretty delicious with some cheddar goldfish crackers 😉

  11. Yum! I grew up on Campbell’s tomato soup and toasted cheese, too. Your version looks much better!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! Tomato soup is something I never thought about making myself until recently. It was surprisingly delicious and easy!!

  12. picassoqueen says:

    Oh my! I love dipping grilled cheese into tomato soup, but this way looks sooo much better! I’ll have to try it!

  13. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #51 | Pa-BLAM!

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #58 | Pa-BLAM!

  15. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #62 | Pa-BLAM!

  16. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #91 | Pa-BLAM!

  17. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of 28 April 2014 | The Vampire Diet

  18. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of 12 May 2014 | The Vampire Diet

  19. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of March 27 | The Vampire Diet

Leave a Reply

