Grandma Kern’s Sugar Cookies

As I promised, I’ve returned with another recipe.  A cookie recipe.  A delicious cookie recipe.

These are the fluffiest sugar cookies I have ever had.  They are soft, moist, and just all around amazing.  I had them the first time when my cousin Wendy made them.  I was hooked from that point on.

She got the recipe from her husband, who got the recipe from his grandma.  That’s where the name comes from.  Grandma Kern knew how to bake!

Grandma Kern's Sugar Cookies - Om Nomalicious

Grandma Kern’s Sugar Cookies

2 Cups Sugar
1 Cup Butter
3 Eggs
1 Cup Sour Cream
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Baking Powder
4 1/3 Cups Flour
Colored Sugar, Optional

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream together the sugar and butter.  Once fluffy, add the eggs one at a time and beat well for about 5 minutes.

Add the sour cream and dry ingredients, and beat until well mixed.  The batter will get thick, so you may need to do the last bit by hand.  Daniel broke my old, cheap mixer by trying to mix this batter.  It burnt out the motor.

Grandma Kern's Sugar Cookies - Om Nomalicious

Once mixed, drop the batter by the Tablespoon onto a sprayed baking sheet.  Sprinkle with colored sugar if you want.

Grandma Kern's Sugar Cookies - Om Nomalicious

Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until they’re lightly golden brown, and they spring back when touched.

Grandma Kern's Sugar Cookies - Om Nomalicious

Let cool on a wire wrack and try not to eat all of them!

Grandma Kern's Sugar Cookies - Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Grandma Kern’s Sugar Cookies

  1. saucygander says:

    These look and sound so good!

  2. Sour Cream! Grandma Kern was a GENIUS 😀 I have to try this!!

  3. I’m adding this to my sugar cookie perfection board!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! They’re not rollout ones (I have yet to find one I really like that is a roll out, blah) but they’re amazing!

      • Me too! I’m trying to find one for the kid’s rehearsal dinner (I found this fabulous copper cookie cutter at a yard sale) that is a cowboy boot shape (OSU Cowboys is their alma mater) but I just can’t find a recipe I like so I’m hiring someone to do it! If you find one, let me know!

      • pamasaurus says:

        I’ll definitely let you know!! I have homemade oreos on my blog somewhere, and the chocolate rollout dough is AMAZING. It tastes great, holds its shape, and takes stamps really well. I wish I could figure out how to take the chocolate out of it, hahaha.

      • I’m using that as soon as the black cocoa powder I ordered comes in!!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Oh, yay! Hopefully you like it!! Only use half black then half regular because it can be a bit overwhelming 😀

      • Okay, I’ll remember! hey, I just pinned Grandma Kerns sugar cookies for RecipeNewZ – that always get’s lots of repins and hits so I hope it does for you!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Thanks! We are getting a bunch of extra hits today. Most of them, though, are for the Crispy Baked Apples that Jecca posted awhile ago. Someone popular apparently pinned it today. I love with things like that happen, haha.

  4. Gail says:

    Remember, you had to make these for Trinity’s teacher and she wanted the ones that are big and fluffey and all kinds of delious.

  5. These look utterly perfect 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. picassoqueen says:

    Yum! These look awesome!

  7. Carla says:

    I love decorating sugar cookies! So easy yet the right colored sprinkles (and frosting) makes them perfect for any occasion.

Leave a Reply

