Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili

Last year, I decided to start a new cooking challenge.  I was going to make one meatless meal a week.  The benefits of having one meatless meal are numerous.  Meatless meals are generally lower in calories, less expensive, and healthier.  Those aren’t the reasons I chose to do this, though.  I just really wanted to branch out with my recipes; I wanted to be challenged.

So far this year, I’ve made a meatless meal every week except one, Spring Break.  Not to toot my own horn, but I think that’s pretty impressive to a meatless newby.

This challenge lead me to the Meatless Monday website.  They have A TON of information if you’re thinking of joining the once a week meatless trend.  One of the resources available is an extensive recipe index.  This is where I found one of my favorites, Butternut Squash Black Bean Chili, and here is my version:

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili - Om Nomalicious

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili

1 lb Frozen Cubed Butternut Squash (Or 1/2 a Fresh Squash)
1 Onion, Diced
2 Bell Peppers, Diced
4 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1/2 Tbsp Chipotle in Adobo Sauce, Minced or Pureed (Adjust To Taste)
1 Can Diced Tomatoes
2 Cans Black Beans, Drained
1 Cup Vegetable Broth
1 Tbsp Ground Cumin
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
1/2 Tbsp Coriander
1 Tbsp Dried Cilantro
Salt and Pepper, To Taste
Cheese, Sour Cream, or Other Toppings

Combine all the ingredients in a crock pot.

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili - Om Nomalicious

Cook on low for 6-8 hours, or high for 3-4.  The longer it cooks, the more the squash will turn into a thick sauce.

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili - Om Nomalicious

 

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili - Om Nomalicious

Top with desired toppings and enjoy!

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili - Om Nomalicious

 

The last time I made this, I ended up with 5 normal sized bowlfuls.  Each had about 200 calories without toppings.  That’s pretty awesome!

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili - Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in meatless, recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili

  1. Juliet says:

    This chili looks amazing! I’m fascinated by the butternut squash (which I LOVE!). I definitely want to try this one out. :0)

  2. It looks really great – tell me, did your husband like it? I’m asking because I’m just a little worried that Mr. Picky Eater would turn his nose up at it. Looking for a male perspective.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!

      My husband isn’t really picky, but he is skeptical of my meatless meals usually. He loved this and said that he didn’t even miss the meat. He eats everything I make, though!

      Trinity is the picky one, and she loves this! I say give it a try.

  3. Dabbit says:

    Looks tasty, I have never had butternut squash (but like chilli), although we have had a lot of vegetarian meals recently (Falafel, beans etc)

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re the second person to mention never having butternut squash. It’s pretty delicious, so you should definitely look into trying it. Do you have it in your area?

      • Dabbit says:

        Yeah we have it over here, seen it in the supermarkets, but its a bit like pumpkin I have never known what to do with it 🙂 Except now I have a recipe to follow

  4. I have never tried butternut but I would love to, especially with this chilli – sounds delish!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Jecca says:

    Thus looks amazing!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #53 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #66 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #69 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #73 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili | The Little GSP

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: Whole30, Week 1 (again) | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

