Chocolate Cubed Cake

Today is a special day around these parts.  My beautiful daughter is officially a teenager.  Yup.  It’s her 13th birthday.  I don’t know where time goes; it feels like she was itty bitty only a week ago!

We celebrated this past Saturday with a trip to the beach (a post about this will be up on Pa-Blam later this evening if you’re interested) and eating way too much junk.  Included in this junk was a birthday cake, of course.  The kiddo is a HUGE chocolate fan, and she requested the same Chocolate, Chocolate, Chocolate Cake from Katie’s Kitchen Blog that I made her last year.  It went a lot better this time around, probably thanks to familiarity with the recipe, a bit of tweaking, and the awesome new bakeware I won from Kelli.

Today is also my Goddaughter’s birthday as well.  She’s 2!  Although her party is this coming weekend, the kiddo let her jump in to help blow out the candles on Saturday.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Chocolate^3 Cake

For Cake:

3/4 Cup Cocoa Powder (I Used 1/2 Cup Dutch Processed and 1/4 Cup Black Cocoa)
2/3 Cup Sour Cream
2 1/2 Cup Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
3/4 Cup (1 1/2 Sticks) Unsalted Butter, Softened
1/2 Cup Shortening
1 1/2 Cups Sugar
1 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
3 Eggs
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

For Frosting:

180 Grams Dark Chocolate (I Used Special Dark Kisses)
180 Grams Milk Chocolate (I Used Milk Chocolate Kisses)
1 1/2 Cups Heavy Whipping Cream
2 Tbsp Corn Syrup
1 1/2 (3 Sticks) Unsalted Butter, Softened and Cubed

For Glaze:

180 Grams Chocolate (I Used 90 Milk and 90 Dark)
3/4 Cup (1 1/2 Sticks) Unsalted Butter

Preheat oven to 325F.  Butter and flour two 9 inch or three 8 inch cake pans.  I used 9 inch this year, but it worked fine with my 8 inchers last year.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder (last year I used all dutch processed, and it was delicious, too), baking powder, baking soda, and salt and set aside.

Beat the butter, shortening, sugar, and brown sugar until fluffy.  Slowly add the eggs, vanilla, and sour cream.

Add the dry ingredients a little at a time and mix until completely incorporated.  The batter will be thick!!

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Divide batter between cake pans and use a offset spatula to level the batter.

Bake for 30-45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Allow to cool completely.

While the cake is baking, start on the frosting.  Heat the cream and corn syrup to a boil.

Put the chocolate into a large bowl and pour the hot cream/syrup mixture on top.  Let sit for a few minutes and whisk until chocolate is completely melted and mixed in.

Cool the mixture to room temperature.  Add the butter a little at a time, and beat until creamy.  Chill completely before use.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

For the glaze, melt the butter and chocolate together.  Last year, I used all dark chocolate.  I thought it was delicious, but the kiddo wasn’t a fan.  She loved it with the milk chocolate added.  Do whatever you like depending on who will be eating it.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Let the chocolate/butter mixture cool so it’s still pourable but is cool to the touch.

Assemble the cake by putting one layer down, spreading some frosting on top, adding the second layer, and completely covering it with the chocolate frosting.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Pour the glaze over top.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

If you’re not serving it right away, refrigerate it.  The frosting melts VERY easily.

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

This is very delicious but very rich.  A small slice was more than enough for us!

Chocolate^3 Cake - Om Nomalicious

Enjoy!!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chocolate Cubed Cake

  1. quilt32 says:

    Happy birthday to your beautiful daughter.
    Lillian

  2. Angie says:

    Happy 13th Birthday Trinity!!!! Beautiful cake, and PAM your not helping 😀

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Trinity And Charlie | Pa-BLAM!

  4. Happy Birthday to Trinity AND that is amazing cake! I hope you post on RecipeNewZ so i can pin there too! Wow – those are pretty fancy pans ya got there missy! 🙂 I really want to make this soon – and I have plenty of celebrations to make it for!

  5. Awww happy 13th to your wonderful daughter – so lucky to have this cake 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. huntfortheverybest says:

    looks like the perfect chocolate cake!

Leave a Reply

