Strawberry Barbecue Sauce

Well, we’re back from Alaska…  have been for a week and a half.  I’m finally forcing myself to post a recipe.  We’re in the middle of an epic heatwave, and food has been the last thing on my mind.  I basically just want to lay in front of the air conditioner with a glass of water and a great book (I’m currently reading Game of Thrones, for those who would ask.).

I had mentioned making strawberry barbecue sauce on my menu plan a few weeks ago, and a few people asked about it.  It’s a great summer recipe, using fresh strawberries and perfect for grilled meats.  What better to share during the summery-est week so far!

I had discovered this recipe for roasted strawberry barbecue sauce from Closet Cooking, and was intrigued.  I had a few issues with the recipe.  Who uses that much ketchup, anyway??  I switched things around and ended up with something amazing.  Daniel said it was intriguing in a good way.  Megan and Dave agreed.  I used it on some slow cooked ribs; Megan used it on chicken thighs.  The bottom line is this sauce is kind of amazing but different.

Before I get to the recipe, I’m going to warn you.  I’ve been on a canning kick.  So, this makes a huge batch!  It made about 8 cups for me, some to keep and some to share.  It’s easily cut down, though.  Just keep that in mind when you’re ready to make it!!

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce - Om Nomalicious

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce

3 Lbs Strawberries
18 Ounces Tomato Paste
2 Tbsp Honey
2 Tbsp Maple Syrup
4 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
4 Tbsp Soy Sauce
2 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
2 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
1/2 Tbsp Garlic Powder
1/2 Tbsp Dried Cilantro
1 tsp Ground Ginger
2 tsp Smoked Paprika
1-2 tsp Chipotle Powder or Cayenne Pepper (Optional)

Preheat oven to 425F.  Hull the strawberries and arrange them on a sprayed baking sheet, slicing the larger ones.

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce - Om Nomalicious

Roast them for 15-20, or until they start releasing liquid and caramelizing a bit.

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce - Om Nomalicious

Mix the strawberries and all other ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Lower heat and simmer a few minutes to allow the flavors to blend.

Now it’s time to blend the sauce.  You can use a good blender, food processor, or immersion blender.  I used my trusty immersion blender.  I don’t know what I would do without it sometimes.

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce - Om Nomalicious

You can store this in the fridge for a week or so, or do what I did and can it!

Don’t know how to can? Here’s a basic tutorial.

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce - Om Nomalicious

Enjoy this on whatever you want! Yum!

Strawberry Barbecue Sauce - Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Strawberry Barbecue Sauce

  1. mmmarzipan says:

    Sounds very interesting- and yummy!

  2. It sounds like it is sweet when it starts – if you used it on ribs then by the time you were serving was it still sweet?

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s a little sweet, but not as much as you would think. The balsamic, soy, and chipotle seasoning balances the sweetness quite well. It’s definitely on the sweeter side, but not anymore than a store bought ‘honey bbq’ sauce.

  3. quilt32 says:

    I’d like to give this a try – on a small scale.
    Lillian

  4. Welcome back! I’m right there with you in front of the AC. Sandwiches are almost too much for this kind of weather. Game of Thrones! Squee! Loved them! Books so much better than series (sacrilege, I know). Are you on the first book? I want to be a Bravoosi water dancer when I grow up. Just so.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! This heat wave is insane! I feel like I’m melting when I’m in the kitchen, haha. I love food too much to stop cooking, though. I guess we can’t have it both ways :/

      I just finished Game of Thrones, and am starting A Clash of Kings! I’m so sucked in right now… so, so good! Thanks for talking about them, making me want to read them! I watched the first episode of the show, but haven’t found time to work on it any more.

  5. mhdriver says:

    I’m sorry I don’t think I would like it but then I’ve never tried it. It just sounds to sweet for my taste.
    Maybe I should let Mickey try it.

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s actually not as sweet as you expect it to be. The soy and vinegar balance the strawberries nicely.

  6. I would love to try this sweet and delicious sauce 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  7. Mere says:

    Did you add lemon juice or just can as was made?

  8. Meg says:

    This looks delicious! How long did you process these in the water bath?

Leave a Reply

