California Featuring E&J XO Brandy

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a BzzAgent.  That means I get free/discounted stuff and MyPoints in exchange for reviewing the free/discounted products.  If you’re interested, I have a disclaimer over on Pa-Blam.

I was offered a campaign for E&J XO Brandy.  Since law prohibits giving away alcohol, I received a mail in rebate for $8.  Considering a 750mL bottle runs right around $14, I decided to give it a go.

I had never had Brandy before, and was very excited to try it.  A bit of an alcohol lesson:  Brandy is a liquor that is distilled from wine.  They are labeled with letters which explain how long they’ve been aged.  The Brandy I was trying is an XO (Extra Old).  That means it’s been aged between 6 and 20 years.

Bottom line on the E&J XO Brandy?  It was good, but not my favorite liquor.  I didn’t enjoy it straight (which is, apparently, how many people drink it), but it was good in mixed drinks.  My new favorite drink is Brandy with Ginger Ale and a lemon wedge.  YUM!

I got a free pack of E&J playing cards with my rebate, too.  Each suit has a different cocktail recipe, and the spades featured one called a California.  It was really, really tasty!

California Featuring E&J XO Brandy by Om NomaliciousCalifornia, Featuring E&J XO Brandy

1oz E&J XO Brandy
2oz Pomegranate Juice
1oz Apple Juice
Splash of Club Soda
Lime Wedge, For Garnish

Shake together the Brandy, pomegranate juice, and apple juice.  Pour into a tall glass over ice.  Add a splash of club soda and garnish with a lime wedge.

Make sure you use straight pomegranate juice.  I tried this with an apple-pomegranate juice, and it just wasn’t as good.  The apple watered it down too much, in my opinion.

California Featuring E&J XO Brandy by Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in beverage, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to California Featuring E&J XO Brandy

  1. well, sounds like you had a really good night! The cocktail looks really pretty too!

  2. quilt32 says:

    I like to have brandy on hand for cooking and EJ is my preferred brand (not the XO).
    Lillian

Leave a Reply

