White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream

A few weeks ago I went berry picking with my friend Corinne.  The blackberries were Ah-mazing!  They had a beautiful color, were huge, and tasted great!  We picked so many!  We were underwhelmed by the raspberries, though.  They looked sad.  We only picked about 3 cups between us.

We made some jam, and I was left with the task of figuring out to make with my leftover blackberries.

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream by Om Nomalicious

While all this was going on my kitteh, Kitten McNugget, ran away.  Megan was coming over to hang out, to help keep my mind off how much I missed my kitteh.  She planned to bring her ice cream maker because ICE CREAM!

Luckily, I found Nuggz in my shed before she got here.  That meant the ice cream making was in celebration instead of sadness.  Blackberries are perfect for celebration, as is white chocolate.

We started with the old fashioned base from her instruction book and added our own little spin.  It was seriously the most amazing ice cream I’ve ever had, and I’m sad that it’s all gone.  I need more blackberries to make more of this delicious concoction!

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream by Om Nomalicious

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream – makes 4 Quarts

3-4 Cups Fresh Blackberries
1.5 Cups White Chocolate Chips
2 1/4 Cup Sugar
6 Tbsp Flour
1/2 tsp Salt
5 Cups Milk
4 Eggs, Beaten
4 Cups Whipping Cream
2 Tbsp Vanilla Extract

Combine sugar, flour, salt, milk, and white chocolate chips in saucepan. Cook over medium heat for approximately 15 minutes, or until it thickens.

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream by Om Nomalicious

Gradually stir one cup of the hot mixture into the beaten eggs. The slower the better; you don’t want to make scrambled eggs. Add the egg mixture into the remaining hot mixture and cook for about a minute, stirring constantly.

Chill the mixture for at least 2 hours.

Whisk the whipping cream and vanilla together. Then add the egg/milk mixture and whisk until combined.

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream by Om Nomalicious

Freeze as directed by your ice cream maker.

I just mashed my blackberries and added a little before the ice cream was totally ready. If you don’t want seeds, you can cook the berries, strain them, and add them at any point in the freezing process.

Serve cold and enjoy!

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream by Om Nomalicious

Of course, this can be stored in the freezer for as long as you’d store regular ice cream!

White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream by Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

Domestic Superhero

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to White Chocolate Blackberry Ice Cream

  1. quilt32 says:

    This sounds wonderful. I love blackberries – seeds and all. I’ll have to get out my ice cream maker.

    So glad you found your kitten.
    Lillian

  2. That sounds absolutely delicious – and I am so glad your kitten came home! 🙂

  3. What a beautiful picture! Mom – who was always a wizard at making homemade ice cream used to sometimes make blackberry but we never put white chocolate in it! I’m going to try it next time!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! My grandmother used to make homemade ice cream all the time… this was my first time! Blackberry and white chocolate are amazing together!

  4. White chocolate and blackberry. What an amazing combination.

  5. What an incredible sounding ice cream 😀
    Lovely!

    Glad to be back!
    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. mhdriver says:

    Hi Pam, We become so attach to our pet that we go into a panic if they get lost or injured. I’m happy for you and your kitty that she made it back home. About the ice cream Yummy, Yummy. We love ice cream but it is not good for diabetics. Every once in awhile we buy a couple of containers.

  7. modernoracle says:

    Inspired by this, made froyo with blackberries and my crockpot yogurt experiment. Thanks for the idea!

    P.S. Shine On 😉 http://modernoracle.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/shine-on-everyone/

Leave a Reply

