Shrimp Scampi

I’ve been trying to work one seafood meal into my weekly menu plan.  Why?  Well, I like it, it offers a kitchen challenge since I’ve never really cooked a lot of seafood before, and it’s healthy.  My good cholesterol is usually always low, and the doctor recommended getting more Omega 3.  This is a tasty way to try to fix that one tiny health issue.

We rarely eat at restaurants.  We just have better things to spend our money on… and I tend to get tummy aches with restaurant foods.  We do treat ourselves every now and then, and one of our favorite places is Red Lobster.  Well, it’s Daniel’s favorite place, and I think it’s pretty good… so I go to make him happy.  I usually order the shrimp scampi.  It’s the best thing on the menu, at least in my opinion.  When I made the commitment to cook one seafood meal a week, I knew I had to learn how to make some sort of equally delicious scrimp scampi.

That’s where this recipe from Food.com comes in.  I made a few small changes, and YUM.  The kid and husband were pretty impressed with the results as well.

Shrimp Scampi by Om Nomalicious

Shrimp Scampi

1 Pound Shrimp, Peeled and Deveined
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1 1/2 Cups Dry White Wine
Juice from 1/2 Lemon, or 2 Tbsp
1 tsp Italian Seasoning
1/2 Cup (1 Stick) Butter
1 Tbsp Parsley
1/2 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet.  Add the shrimp and cook until tender (no longer translucent).

Shrimp Scampi by Om Nomalicious

Remove the shrimp from the pan.

Heat the garlic for 2-3 minutes, making sure not to let it burn, and add the wine and lemon juice.

Cook until the wine reduces by about half, turn heat to low, add the butter and Italian seasoning.

Shrimp Scampi by Om Nomalicious

Once the butter is melted, add the shrimp, parsley, salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese.

Shrimp Scampi by Om Nomalicious

I served mine with pasta, which tasted really good with the extra scampi sauce.

Shrimp Scampi by Om NomaliciousShrimp Scampi by Om Nomalicious

What are you waiting for?  Go make this now!

For a printable version of this recipes, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, recipe, seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shrimp Scampi

  1. quilt32 says:

    I need to cook more seafood, too. This looks like a good recipe and I like the blue flowered cloth in the picture.
    Lillian

  2. Your seafood looks absolutely perfectly cooked, such a delicious recipe 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #73 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a comment