Molasses Cookies

I know, I know.  It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything here.  I’d love to make excuses for myself (cough morning sickness cough) but I won’t bore you with the details.

Instead I’ll just say I’m sorry and refrain from making empty promises to post more often.  You’ll get recipes when you get them.  Also, you’ll get updated photos on older posts when I feel like it, too.  It’s a busy time of year, guys!

Speaking of the time of year… I’m starting my holiday baking this week and wanted to share a recipe for one of my favorite cookies: Molasses Cookies.  They’re sweet and delicious and yum.  Oh, and they’re pretty easy, too.  I don’t mess around with complicated cookies too often.

Molasses Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Molasses Cookies

3/4 Cup Shortening
1 Cup Brown Sugar
1 Egg
1/2 Cup Molasses
2 1/2 Cups Flour
1/2 tsp Salt
2 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1 tsp Ground Ginger
1 tsp Ground Allspice
1 tsp Ground Nutmeg
1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

Cream together the shortening and brown sugar.  Add the egg and molasses and mix well.

Fold in the flour, salt, baking soda, and spices.  Refrigerate for a few hours.

Molasses Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Preheat oven to 350F.

Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and roll in the granulated sugar.  Place on a sprayed baking sheet.

Molasses Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Bake for 9-12 minutes, allow to cool on pan for about a minute, and then cool completely on a wire rack.

Molasses Cookies by Om Nomalicious

Enjoy!

Molasses Cookies by Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Molasses Cookies

  1. These look delish! I was just saying the other day how it’s been ages since I’ve made anything with molasses. I’ll have to give these a go! X

  2. another cookie recipe to try…sounds like I would definitely like them…I might roll in powdered sugar when they come out of the oven…

  3. So pretty! You did a great job and I bet they are fantastic!

  4. These cookies look so delicious, I need to try them 😀
    Who can resist molasses?

    Happy Holidays!
    CCU

Leave a Reply

