Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese

We’re in the middle of a major snow storm right now, and I am not a fan.  I’m trying to keep myself busy with cooking, cleaning, reading, and posting.  I’m way overdue for a post, anyway!  I’m not going to apologize again, though.  You guys already know I lack ambition.

This recipe started as something I saw on Pinterest.  I swore I had pinned it, but I couldn’t find it when it came time to make it.  That means I just used the elusive pin as inspiration.  How hard could it be to make a cheesesteak mac and cheese, anyway?  Not very.  I adapted my basic cheese sauce recipe to create this Ah-mazing stovetop mac and cheese.  I wish I had a bowl of it right now.  It was so delicious.

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese from Om Nomalicious

Can I take a moment to rant?  Yes??  Thanks.  I am so annoyed by the trend of using ‘Philly Cheesesteak’ as a buzzword.  Half the recipes going around with that title are NOT Philly Cheesesteaks.  Before you use the word ‘Philly’ answer these questions:  Does it have ground beef?  Does it use a cheese other than provolone, american, or cheese wiz?  Does it contain anything other than meat, cheese, and onions?  If you answered yes to any of those questions, please leave the ‘Philly’ off your title.

I’ll stop now.  It’s a pet peeve of mine.  Does that make me a snob?  Probably.  I’m not concerned though.  There are worse things to be snobbish about.

On to the recipe, though!

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese from Om Nomalicious

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese

16 oz Pasta
2 lbs Steak or Roast, sliced
1 Large Onion, sliced
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups Milk
1.5 Cups Cheese
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook pasta according to package directions.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet.  Add the onion, garlic, and steak.  Season with salt and pepper and cook until steak is cooked to your taste.  It cooks pretty fast, so watch out.

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese from Om Nomalicious

Stir in the flour, and allow mixture to cook a few minutes before slowly stirring in the milk.  Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for a few minutes until it thickens a bit.  Stir in your favorite cheese.  I used Colby-Jack, which is why this is not considered Philly Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese.

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese from Om Nomalicious

Add the cooked pasta and cheese sauce back into the large pan, and mix until combined.  If you timed it correctly, everything should be done at once.  That means it’ll be hot.  If you have to wait for one or the other, you might need to heat it over low heat, stirring constantly, for a few minutes.

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese from Om Nomalicious

Serve hot and enjoy!

Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in beef, main dish, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cheesesteak Mac and Cheese

  1. quilt32 says:

    This sounds delicious.
    Lillian

  2. This looks so good! I used to add tuna to mac and cheese but I never thought of steak!

  3. What a lovely mac and cheese twist, it is so delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Pingback: Menu Ideas week of June 23 | The Vampire Diet

  5. Pingback: Menu Ideas: 10 Aug 2014 | The Vampire Diet

Leave a Reply

