Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings

Wow, it’s been a busy few weeks.  I turned 31 and this blog turned 2!  Last Thursday was our second Blogiversary!  I meant to make a post, but I didn’t have time (or motivation!) to do so.  Instead, you get this Belated Blogiversary post!

I just can’t believe I have stuck this out for two years.  This blog has seen a few changes over the years, and it’s going to have more to come.  I can’t promise to be consistent with posting (babies take a lot of time!), but I can promise that I won’t give up completely.

I wish I had a recipe for some kind of delicious cake.  It seems fitting.  Instead, I’m here with the complete opposite.  Need an easy weeknight dinner?  This could be exactly what you’re looking for.

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings from Om Nomalicious

Chicken and dumplings are pretty delicious, but who has time to make that after working all day?  Instead, try it this way.  Yeah, it’s technically cheating, but cheating is fine when it comes to cooking sometimes.

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings from Om Nomalicious

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings

2 Cups Shredded Chicken
4 Cups Chicken Stock
1 Can Cream of Chicken Soup
1 Can Refrigerated Biscuits (Not The Flaky Variety)

I usually have shredded, cooked chicken in my freezer.  If you’re not crazy like me, you can bake a pound of chicken breasts or poach them in the stock you’re using in this recipe.  Anyway you cook the chicken is fine.

Combine the chicken, stock, and cream of chicken soup in a large stock pan and bring mixture to a boil.

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings from Om Nomalicious

You can add veggies, too, if you want.  Carrots, onions, celery, whatever.  They’d all taste great!  I just wanted to share the basic recipe.  Feel free to build on it.

While waiting for broth to boil, cut the refrigerated biscuits into 8 pieces each.

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings from Om Nomalicious

Drop them into the boiling water, making sure to push them down into the broth so they don’t stick together.  Let boil for 10 minutes to cook the biscuits.

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings from Om Nomalicious

Serve hot and enjoy!

Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings from Om Nomalicious

See?  Super easy!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Shortcut Chicken and Dumplings

  1. quilt32 says:

    This looks so good and I also always have cooked chicken breast in the freezer.
    Lillian

  2. Easy is for me…and I love Chicken/Dumplings!

  3. Mmmm, this is how my aunt used to make Chicken & Dumplings. So good!

  4. Happy birthday and happy blogoversary!

  5. So many Happies? 😀
    Happy Birthday and Happy Blogiversary! Hope you enjoyed these lovely chicken dumplings!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #90 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #91 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #92 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

