Chicken Corn Soup

I’ve mentioned previously that I grew up in a region that has a large PA Dutch influence.  If you’ve never heard of PA Dutch food, you should seriously do some Googling because you’re really missing out.  I know a lot of the regional foods sound really weird, but they’re very delicious.  This dish is no different.  Chicken Corn Soup is something I’ve been eating since I could chew.

My Grandmother volunteered at the local fire company.  They would always serve this soup at functions held there.  My Grandmother made it all the time at home as well.

This isn’t exactly my Grandmother’s recipe; I’ve changed a few things to make it quicker.  I’ve also chosen to leave out celery because I’m not a fan.

I know, blasphamous for a person that loves to cook.  I get by fine without it, promise.

No matter how weird this soup may seem, you need to try it.  I don’t know about where you live, but fall is starting here.  It’s the perfect time to start making soups.

Chicken Corn Soup from Om Nomalicious

Chicken Corn Soup

1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 lb Bone-In Chicken
1 Bay Leaf
1/2 Red Onion, Diced
1/2 lb Carrots, Chopped (I Used Whole Baby)
3 Cups Chicken Stock
2 Cups Frozen Corn
2 Cups Egg Noodles
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Heat the oil in the bottom of a large pan.  Season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Add the chicken to the pan and brown for about 3 minutes each side.

Chicken Corn Soup from Om Nomalicious

Once the chicken is browned, add bay leaf, carrots, diced onion, and enough water to cover chicken.  Bring to a boil, cover, and allow to simmer for about an hour, or until chicken is falling off the bone.

Chicken Corn Soup from Om Nomalicious

Remove the chicken from the broth, and allow to cool.  Once cool, separate the meat from the fat and bone, and shred the meat into bite size pieces.

I usually strain the broth (to remove bay leaf, vegetables, and any chicken bits) and run it through my gravy separator.  Add the broth back into the pan and add the chicken stock.  If you have the time, you could always just make your own stock by following this method, but cooking all day.  I usually don’t have time for that.  On the other side, you could just use all prepared broth and leftover chicken.  It’s really all about how much time you have and how much work you want to do.

Add the corn, and shredded chicken.  I also added my carrots back in, but they were really overcooked.  I didn’t mind, so just use your own judgement.  Bring soup to a boil.

Add the egg noodles and boil until they’re fully cooked.

Chicken Corn Soup from Om Nomalicious

Enjoy this soup hot.  Seriously.  Enjoy it.

I like my soups really chunky.  If you prefer more broth, feel free to adjust the ingredients.  These are all approximations, anyway.  I never measure anything when I make this.

Chicken Corn Soup from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Chicken Corn Soup

  1. quilt32 says:

    That looks like my kind of soup – nice and thick – and without celery.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. Gail says:

    okay the secret is out…I put celery seed in everything when Pam was growing up and called them little balls. Still had the celery flavor, but no celery sticks. Sorry Babe.!!!!

  3. celery schmelery – I like it, cooked, well enough…but it just doesn’t belong in this soup if you ask my taste buds. You are right though…you can not beat PA Dutch cooking. Know any good shoo-fly pie recipes? It’s a fall thing…always crave a taste of it this time of year for some reason.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve never made shoo-fly pie myself, but I do have a few recipes laying around. I can attempt it if you really want 😉

      • No worries. Do you have a favorite website for PA Dutch recipes? I have a couple of shoo fly pie recipes laying around, too. Sometimes I’ll make one for Halloween night and call it “Treacle Tart” like Harry Potter since they are so similar

      • pamasaurus says:

        I actually do not have a PA Dutch website, haha. All the recipes I make from that genre, I make from memory. My grandmother was always cooking when I was little.

        I did see a pretty interesting PA Dutch cookbook the other day. I thought about picking it up, but decided against it. I’d like to stat making more PA Dutch style foods 😉

      • Same here! We lived in PA dutch country for a while when I was small…Shippingsburg, Newburg, & Myersdale PA…add that to Grandmother’s Bavarian German heritage and you get lots of family members making lots of good food an no one using recipes! She did write down her famous snickerdoodle recipe for one of those church lady fundraiser cookbooks. If I find anything good PA Dutch recipes will post it or let you know, for sure!

      • pamasaurus says:

        I have a whole collection of my Grandmother’s Church and Grange Hall cookbooks somewhere. They haven’t been unpacked since the move (over a year ago. Ugh, the joys of buying a fixer upper, haha. Nothing is ever done).

        I grew up in Montoursville, which is right near Williamsport. No one ever knows where it is, haha. You might, though.

        I feel like you might be one of the only people I follow on here that would know how ‘chicken pot pie’ can be a soup and not a pie 😉 I just made that for dinner tonight, and yuuuum.

      • I totally get that…that’s not a bad idea. Haven’t made pot pie in ages. Mmmmm

        I have to admit, we ate well as kids going to Grandma’s house….PA Dutch / German on one side and Southern on the other.

      • pamasaurus says:

        Lucky! You were spoiled! I’m slowly learning all the Southern things. I never had a Southern influence until I met my Husband. His family is from Florida/Georgia (and Maine)… I hadn’t ever had grits until I started seeing him, haha.

      • I was spoiled, not doubt about that…but no grits? I can’t imagine! PLEASE tell you’ve had fried cornmeal mush (polenta) 🙂

      • pamasaurus says:

        I’m sheltered apparently. No I have not had polenta either :/

  4. Yummy! We love soup at this house and you can bet this will be on our list as soon it gets cool enough!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’m always confused when people say that… but then I remember that you’re further south, so the weather isn’t as cool yet as it is here in Jersey!

      Hopefully you get to make it soon 😀

  5. This sounds incredible. I, too, am not a fan of celery and omit it when possible. I don’t think this recipe is lacking anything without it!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It seems that there are a lot of us ‘non-celery people’. I always thought I was weird, but apparently not!

  6. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken and Stock | omnomalicious

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #18 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Pot Pie | omnomalicious

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #63 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a comment