Lemon Chicken with Sweet Pea Tortellini

A friend of mine sent me this recipe from Rachael Ray Magazine about a year ago. Since then, it has become one of my family’s favorites. I make it as often as possible.

It takes a while to get the hang of making the tortellini, but I promise, with a little practice, it’s easy! This recipe only uses about half a pack of wonton wrappers, well, at least half the packs they have at my grocery store. So, I usually double this and freeze half. That way I have less work next time I want it!

Just put half the uncooked tortellini on a baking sheet. Put them in the freezer until solid. Then put them in a freezer bag and back in the freezer until needed.

Of course, you could always use the other half to make raviolis, wontons, or a different flavor tortellini.

Photobucket

Lemon Chicken with Sweet Pea Tortellini

For Chicken:

2 Lemons, 1 Thinly Sliced, 1 Squeezed Into Juice
1 lb Boneless Chicken Thighs
¼ cup Chicken Broth
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

For Tortellini:

½ Cup Frozen Sweet Peas, Thawed
½ cup Ricotta Cheese
1 tsp Dried Tarragon
¼ tsp Salt
25 Wonton Wrappers

Preheat oven to 425F. Place lemon slices in single layer in baking dish. Place the chicken on top of the lemons and season with salt and pepper.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked. Drizzle chicken with remaining lemon juice.

Photobucket

While the chicken is cooking, mix ricotta, peas, tarragon, and salt in a food processor. You could also just smash them together with a spoon, but the food processor is much faster.

Photobucket

Place a teaspoon of filling onto the center of a wonton wrapper.

Photobucket

Using water to seal the edges, fold the wrapper in half diagonally to form a triangle. Pull the three points together and secure with more water.

Photobucket

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, and cook the tortellini for about five minutes or until they float to the top.

Photobucket

Transfer to plate and top with chicken and pan juices. Enjoy.

Photobucket

I used fat free ricotta cheese, and each tortellini only had about 30 calories. You could easily fit as many as you wanted into your day!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Lemon Chicken with Sweet Pea Tortellini

  1. Gotta love Rachael! Thanks for sharing. And terrific photos! 🙂

  2. Jecca says:

    That looks really good!

  3. Oooh, I love those little tortellini. I just started making my own pasta dough and I’ve been looking for filling ideas, so thanks for this!

  4. WOW! This really looks yummy!

  5. whateverisinthekitchen says:

    Oooooh, yay–the sweet peas in our garden are the first things that are coming up–better bookmark this!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I just got mine planted! I’m pretty excited to make this with fresh peas this summer!

      • whateverisinthekitchen says:

        We’ll have to share our garden-to-table stories!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Yes! This is my first year as a homeowner, which means it’s my first year with a yard I can garden in! So, it’s really exciting for me 😀

  6. becky jj says:

    Love chicken. Love lemon. Love tortellini. Love your blog.

  7. After Taste says:

    You make it look so easy! I bet it tasted delicious.

  8. Kerry says:

    This looks so yummy!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #94 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a comment