Crock Pot Orange Chicken

Chinese food is delicious, and orange chicken is one of my favorite dishes.  I can’t eat it a lot, though, because Chinese take out is loaded with fat and sodium.  It really does not fit into a healthy lifestyle too well, except as a treat every now and then.

I came across this recipe for crock pot orange chicken, and I knew I had to give it a try.  I did attempt a few small changes, but nothing major.  It ended up being delicious.

Even my daughter, who refuses to eat Chinese food, ate two servings of this.  So, it must be delicious, right?

crock pot orange chicken - om nomalicious

 

Crock Pot Orange Chicken

1 lb Chicken Breast
1/3 Cup Flour
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 tsp Balsamic Vinegar
3 Tbsp Ketchup
6 oz Frozen OJ Concentrate
2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
½ Tbsp Soy Sauce
2 Cups Chopped Broccoli

Cut chicken into bite size chunks and coat with flour, shaking off the excess.

Photobucket

Heat olive oil in large skillet, and brown chicken.  It doesn’t have to be completely cooked because it’s going in the crock pot.  Just allow the outside to brown up a bit.

crock pot orange chicken - om nomalicious

Add the browned chicken and the broccoli to the crock pot.

crock pot orange chicken - om nomalicious

Combine balsamic vinegar, ketchup, OJ concentrate, brown sugar, and soy sauce.  Pour this over the chicken and broccoli.

crock pot orange chicken - om nomalicious

Cook on low for 5-6 hours or high for 2-3 hours.

crock pot orange chicken - om nomalicious

The original sauce was a bit too sweet for me, so I cut back on the sugar and added some soy sauce to balance it out a bit.

crock pot orange chicken - om nomalicious

I wish I would have had pineapple chunks and water chestnuts.  I really think they would’ve tasted amazing in this.  I settled on the broccoli, which turned out really yumtastic anyway.  Next time I’ll probably use pineapple, water chestnuts, AND broccoli.  Just thinking of that makes me hungry!

I served this over my rice pilaf.  YUM!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crock Pot Orange Chicken

  1. mhdriver says:

    Thanks for stopping by my Easter Ham.It makes me happy when people stop by I was checking out some of your recipes and we are going try out your crock pot orange chicken. We are fans of Chinese food.

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday! | Pa-BLAM!

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #38 | Pa-BLAM!

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #45 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Pingback: Menue Ideas for the week of 12 May 2013 | The Vampire Diet

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #46 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Tuesday #19 | Love, Harmony, Peace

Leave a comment