Spinach and Artichoke Casserole

Spinach and artichoke dip is my favorite appetizer. I order it whenever possible. It’s delicious.

I have an old recipe for some pretty amazing dip, but I rarely have a reason to make it. It’s not like I go around making appetizers for my small family every night. Sure, I’ll make it for get-togethers sometimes, when I don’t make dessert. I’m pretty antisocial, though. So, I don’t get out much.

I was pretty excited to see this recipe from Budget Savvy Diva. It inspired me to create my own spinach and artichoke casserole. I used a mixture of my dip recipe and my skinny tuna noodle casserole.

Oh man. I can’t even describe how amazing this was! DELICIOUS!

Photobucket

Spinach and Artichoke Casserole

1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 lb Boneless Chicken Breast
1 16oz Package Chopped Spinach
1 13.75oz Can Artichoke Hearts
2 Cups Sour Cream
1 Can Cream of Chicken Soup (I used Cream of Anything Soup)
1 Cup Milk
1 Clove Garlic, Minced
8oz (1/2 Box) Shell Pasta
½ Cup Parmesan Cheese
1 ½ Cup Mozzarella Cheese
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces. Heat olive oil and pan and cook the chicken. Make sure you season it with salt and pepper or whatever seasoning you prefer. I’m pretty obsessed with Goya Adobo Light With Pepper lately. I use it in everything.

Bring a big pot of water to boil and cook shell pasta according to package directions.

Thaw and drain the spinach. Drain, rinse and chop the artichoke hearts.

Photobucket

Whisk together the sour cream, soup, milk, garlic, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and 1 cup of the mozzarella cheese. Add the spinach, artichokes, chicken, and pasta. Mix well.

Photobucket

Pour into a sprayed baking dish. Top with remaining ½ cup of mozzarella cheese.

Photobucket

Bake for about 30 minutes, until bubbly and the cheese is all melted. Enjoy.

Photobucket

This made 8 large servings. I used low fat or fat free versions of all the ingredients, and each serving had only 350 calories. That makes it even better!

I should also note that this could easily use 2 pounds of chicken, depending on how chicken-y you want it. The chicken can also be completely omitted for a meatless casserole.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Spinach and Artichoke Casserole

  1. Jecca says:

    This looks amazing and is making me hungry! 😀

  2. moneysava says:

    I had home made pasta in a restaurant the other day which was stuffed with riccotta and spinach and it was yummy. Never had artichoke though – maybe something new to try soon

  3. KY says:

    Probably a good replacement for Popeye! I’m not a cook but this is the first time I have ever heard of an artichoke-spinach combo.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Really? Most chain restaurants (Applebee’s, Ruby Tuesday’s, Olive Garden to name a few) have a spinach and artichoke dip appetizer. Applebee’s is the best I’ve had, haha.

      • KY says:

        Haha! Unfortunately, no such chain restaurants in my part of the world. But still, will keep my eye open when I’m on my travels!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Ah, ok. That explains it! If you ever come across it, definitely give it a try!

  4. nancycg56 says:

    This looks so delicious! I will be giving it a try soon!

  5. Juliet says:

    Yum! I love spinach & artichoke dip, so I’m sure I’ll love this recipe. :0)

  6. I love spinach and artichoke! That looked so yummy!

  7. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Sandwich | omnomalicious

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday! | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Spinach and Artichoke Dip | omnomalicious

  10. This looks fabulous! I am going to try this…….just a couple changes will make it completely gluten free. We all love artichokes in my house so this will be a nice surprise for them.

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #34 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #67 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a comment