Italian Wedding Soup

This is one of those recipes that I make from memory without measuring anything. When I was 18, just starting college, I looked up a recipe. It was alright, but way too greasy and complicated for me. So, I made some changes, and came up with this.

One day I’d like to pass on my recipes, so this is my attempt at quantifying one of my daughter’s favorites. It’s super easy, but my whole (extended) family loves it!

Photobucket

I should note that I usually use pasta called acini di pepe. Trinity refers to it as ‘dot pasta,’ because it looks like tiny dots. My store was out, so I picked up some stelline, tiny stars, instead. One time I used alphabet. Any small pasta will work.

Photobucket

Italian Wedding Soup

1 lb Lean Ground Turkey
1 Whole Egg
¼ Cup Breadcrumbs
¼ tsp Garlic Powder
½ Tbsp Italian Seasoning
8 Cups Chicken Broth
1 Cup Stelline Pasta (about ½ a box)
2 Cups Fresh Spinach

Mix the turkey, egg, breadcrumbs, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning together in a bowl. Roll into meatballs. I used about 1 tablespoon of mix per meatball, and it made around 32 of them.

Place meatballs on a sprayed baking sheet. Bake at 350F for about 20 minutes.

Photobucket

While the meatballs are baking, pour chicken broth into a large pan. Bring to boil.

Once meatballs are done, add them to the broth along with the stelline pasta. Boil for 5 minutes.

Photobucket

Add spinach and allow to cook for 1 additional minute, just until the spinach wilts.

Photobucket

Remove from heat, serve, and enjoy!

I know it seems like this has a TON of meatballs in it, but this made about 6 huge bowls of soup. That means that each bowl had approximately 5 meatballs.

It’s really extra delicious served with a piece of garlic bread.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here.

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Italian Wedding Soup

  1. Audrey says:

    Looks delicious!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Happy Cooking!

  2. rogueretlaw says:

    Wow that looks REALLY good! Too bad it’s hitting warmer weather around here, it’d be great for a chilly day.

    • pamasaurus says:

      It was really nice here. Now it’s been chilly again. Stupid weather, lol.

      Thanks! It is an awesome soup for cold days. Maybe in the fall?

      Thanks for stopping by 😀

  3. I love Italian wedding soup, and this one makes me a believer that I can make it at home! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. cooktocure says:

    Yum!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #16 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #58 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #68 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #82 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #91 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a comment